Your browser version is outdated. We recommend that you update your browser to the latest version.

Development and Learning

Children's development and learning

The provision for children's development and learning is guided by The Early Years Foundation Stage (DCFS 2007). From September 2008 the Early Years Foundation Stage became law. This brings together Birth to Three Matters and the Curriculum Guidance for the Foundation Stage.  Our provision reflects the four key themes and 16 commitments of the Early Years Foundation Stage.    

 A Unique Child
 - Child Development: Skilful communicator, competent learner.
 - Inclusive Practice: Equality and diversity, children’s entitlements, early support.
 - Keeping Safe: Being safe and protected, discovering boundaries, making choices.
 - Health and Well-being: Growth and developing, physical and emotional wellbeing.
 Positive Relationships
- Respecting Each Other: Understanding feelings, friendship, professional relationships.
- Parents as Partners: Respecting diversity, communication, learning together.
- Supporting Learning: Positive interactions, listening to children, effective teaching.
- Key Person: Secure attachment, shared care, independence.
 Enabling Environments 
Observation, Assessment and Planning: Starting with the child, planning, assessment.
- Supporting Every Child: Children’s needs, the learning journey, working together.
- The Learning Environment: The emotional environment, the outdoor environment, the indoor environment.
- The Wider Context: Transitions and continuity, multi-agency working, the community.
 Learning and Development
Play and Exploration: Learning through experience, adult involvement, contexts for learning.
- Active Learning: Mental and physical involvement, decision making, personalised learning.
- Creativity and Physical Thinking: Making connections, transforming and understanding, sustained shared thinking.
- Areas of Development and Learning.


How we provide for development and learning

Children start to learn about the world around them from the moment they are born. The care and education offered by our setting helps children to continue to do this by providing all of the children with interesting activities that are appropriate for their age and stage of development.

The Areas of Development and Learning comprise:

- Personal Social and Emotional
- Communication and Language
- Physical Development
- Literacy
- Mathematics
- Understanding The World
- Expressive Arts and Design

For each area, the practice guidance sets out the Early Learning Goals. These goals state what it is expected that children will know and be able to do by the end of the reception year of their education.

The practice guidance also sets out in ‘Development Matters’ the likely stages of progress a child makes along their learning journey towards the early learning goals. Our setting has regard to these matters when we assess children and plan for their learning.

© Copyright 2015 Honeys Nursery
Hosted by